• Home
  • Financial Aid
  • Scholarships


Announcement of Religious Studies Scholarships, 2017-2018

Application Deadline: February 1, 2017

Scholarship Application Form (PDF)

The Department of Religious Studies invites religious studies undergraduate majors and graduate students to submit applications for the appropriate scholarships for the academic year 2017-2018.

To apply please send the following to Patricia Baudino Cecil, 101 Smith Hall, 1300 Oread Avenue, Lawrence, Kansas 66045:

  • Completed departmental scholarship & award application form
  • Copy of your transcript or Degree Progress Report showing all courses completed in religious studies
  • Statement of in-state or out-of state tuition and fees status
  • Brief letter of application explaining how you meet the eligibility requirements as well as a description of your program of study and the progress you have made toward completing your degree requirements. Please outline the work you have planned for the coming year, and note any distinctions that you have received for academic or related work not specified on the Degree Progress Report (e.g., departmental awards, publications, presentations, extra research projects, etc.).

Recipients will be notified of their awards no later than May 1st, 2017. Amounts of awards may vary by in-state or out-of-state tuition status.

Friends of the Department of Religious Studies (FODORS) Scholarships
Application deadline date: February 1, 2017
Awards: number and size of awards may vary; generally not less than $1,000 per year or more than $15,000 per year for out-of-state students and $7,000 per year for in-state students.
Eligibility: Students already enrolled and students newly admitted into the M.A. program are eligible to apply. Graduate students are required to enroll for a minimum of nine academic hours each semester, while GTAs must enroll for a minimum of six hours.

Zelma McIlvain Scholarships
Application deadline date: February 1, 2017
Awards: Two or more scholarships of $1,000 to $5,000 each
Eligibility: Preference is given to undergraduate religious studies majors of all levels; graduate students in religious studies are also eligible.

St. John’s Episcopal Church Scholarships
Application deadline date: February 1, 2017
Awards: Two or more scholarships of $500 to $1,000 each
Eligibility: Religious studies majors planning to attend divinity school or pursue careers in social work; seniors and graduate students.

Starrett-Clark Scholarships
Application deadline date: February 1, 2017
Awards: Two or more scholarships of $400 to $800 each
Eligibility: Preference will be given to religious studies graduate students currently engaged in writing theses; undergraduate majors also eligible.

Lynn Taylor Memorial Award
Application deadline date: February 1, 2017
Awards: One annually.
Eligibility: Religious Studies graduating major who shows high academic ability, recognizes the interface of religious studies with other disciplines, and demonstrates leadership and caring for others in activities within and beyond the university. The applicant is to write a letter outlining his or her academic achievements and community leadership and service. Attach this letter to the completed departmental scholarship and award application form and materials as indicated above.

Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today